Chef

Christian Maurino

About
Interview

       Christian Maurino’s childhood and youth were spent in the cozy region of Provence, located between the Rhone Valley, Languedoc-Roussillon, Alps, Cote d’Azur and Corsica. The uniqueness of the location gave the inhabitants of this place a variety of natural and tasty products. Lambs fed on alpine meadows, pheasants from the banks of the Durance river, river pike perch from the cold streams of Provençal waters, marble Rabas black truffle — all this inspired Christian to choose his profession. At the age of 13, he realized that cooking would become not just his hobby, but his life’s work.

       In July 1975, the maestro first came to the kitchen as an intern under the direction of Claude Richau, the owner of a 18th-century hotel restaurant, in which French President Henri Giscard d’Esten and his wife were dining at the time. Even then, Christian set about trying to open his own restaurant, realizing that there is a lot to learn for this. Upon reaching the required age, he was accepted into the Escofier Vocational School of Haute Cuisine. With a strong character, Christian was accustomed to achieve his goals and always sought new knowledge and experimentation. His mentor, Mr. Claude Bertrand, constantly urged Christian not to be afraid to go beyond the student’s professional limits and expand his usual boundaries.

       The next step on the path to learning a profession was training at the Ritz Escoffier in Paris, then internships began in different cities of France (Courchevel, Meribel, Tignes, Cannes, Ajaccio) and preparation for a qualified gastronomic exam, which is key to becoming a cook as a professional. Successfully passing all the tests and passing the exam, Christian realized that the real rise of his career had begun.

       In 1988, Christian's dream came true - he opened his first restaurant in the resort town of Bormes-les-Mimosas on the Cote d'Azur. But this was not enough for him: gradually the kitchen turned into a real passion for the maestro and he understood that if you want to learn the incredibly difficult and interesting gastronomic science, you need to share experiences with the chefs of other countries, learn new products and secrets of their preparation.

       Conjured by this world, thirsty for knowledge and in love with cooking, Christian sold his restaurant and set off to travel the world. Having worked in Central America, in the Caribbean, in South Asia, the chief was in Russia, in Moscow. According to Christian, Moscow enchanted him, he fell in love with her as a beautiful woman and now he cannot be long without her. It was a special pleasure for Christian to see how the sense of taste in the Russian guest evolves and how people become imbued with the culture of gastronomy. Christian loved Russian markets and some national dishes, ingeniously adapting them in his own way.

       The basic principle of the work of the chef “Parisienne”, so beloved by the Russian guests, is the ability to guess the wishes of the guests and the desire to bring joy to their creations. “You need to love what you do and then the guests will also love it!” Says Christian day after day embodying his words in the most delicious and unusual dishes.
      - Cristiano, let's start with the main thing: how do you become a real cook?

       - At 13 I had to choose a profession. I wanted to create only with my own hands, so I chose between the professions of landscape designer or cook. I tried to cook and decided to go further in this particular case. Then began internships, training at the Ritz Escoffier in Paris. Then - a small Provencal restaurant, seasonal cuisine based on local products, and again and again lessons. Then I was brought to Corsica, to the Bec Fin restaurant - there I realized how much I like working with fresh fish and seafood ... I would have stayed there, but after two years I studied classical French cooking at the restaurant Paul Bocuse: long live meat, sausages , broth and cream! He returned to fish only three years later, settling in Cannes and realizing himself to be an expert in all areas of French cuisine. But I still love the fish.

        - Have you experimented with culinary traditions of other countries?

       - I myself am half Italian, I know this kitchen well. It is perfect for home - simple, tasty, the appearance of the dish is not particularly important, the main thing - more and more spacious. And French cuisine is perfectionism in everything: the guest should be delighted already from one type of dish, and cannot be disappointed when he tries this dish. That is why I say that French cuisine is an art, it is the beauty of the dish, the versatility of taste and the enjoyment of the aftertaste. And I want to do exactly this art.

        - How do you think, Moscow gourmets are able to fully appreciate your work?

       - Now yes. But six years ago, when I first came to Moscow, to a Moscow restaurant, the guests did not understand the high cuisine. They did not care what lay on the plate. It was believed that if they came to a luxurious restaurant, everyone praised. This is boring - and so I went to Morocco, where the royal family engaged me. You can imagine all the beauty with which I was met there ... But I could not even think what religion would prevent me from. I am an atheist, but the Moroccans are very religious. Everything was ritual there. I did not fit into this ritual, and it was very depressing. The invitation of Vladislav to head the kitchen here, in Parisienne - in the already tempted Moscow - was, of course, a gift. Now here I can cook my complex and beautiful dishes and know that they will understand and appreciate me - people really like the culture of gastronomy. I like that my guest expects new impressions from my kitchen. Yes, and what guests! I was invited to cook a banquet for President Medvedev. I am far from politics, I am a cook and I do my own business, but it’s still flattering for me to cook for the president of this big country.

       - How do you relax?

       - I'm going to my mother. Every three months and spend a week with her.

       - Cook for her?

       - No, that you! I can only cook in a professional kitchen. At home, there will be a real mess, this is insanity - to venture it on four people! So my family can try my cuisine only in a restaurant.

       - How and where do new ideas usually come from?

       - I love to travel, already traveled half the world. On the road, I never stop in hotels with their mode and a menu adapted for tourists - I immediately go to the market. It is important for me to understand every product, every spice, herbs — I touch them, look around, smell, try. This is the only way to understand the culture of a place. Hence the inspiration for experimentation. For example, when I came to Moscow for the first time, I did not know about borsch or dumplings. Now I am cooking real Russian borscht, but I add a drop of truffle oil at the end. Well, consider it as an autograph! And I make dumplings - with foie gras and shrimps. And Russian smoked sausage is something! After trying it, he decided on a revolution: for the festival Beaujolais baked oysters with it. An unusual snack was made, and the guests appreciated.

       - In general, how far can experiments in traditional French cuisine go?

       - Exceptions must confirm the rule. The main principle is one: respect for the product. A man grows carrots, he works on it, spends his strength on it, and I have to respect the work of this person. I have to respect the meat that comes to my kitchen, because it was also grown by someone’s work and cares. Only by respecting the product, I can cook a good dish out of it. And you will try my veal with truffle and the simplest side dish, and feel my respect for you, I will give it to you through a dish that I cook with my own hands and with my head.

       - What is ahead: strengthening the position of French cuisine in Russia?

       - I will continue to create and travel. And when the time comes to retire, I want to transfer my knowledge to those to whom they can come in handy. I traveled the world and saw talented children who had no prospects, simply because their families did not even have enough money for food, not so much for education. I want to transfer my experience to those who feel called to themselves

Parisienne

О ресторане

Меню

Шеф-повар

Летняя веранда

Банкеты

Контакты

Шеф-повар

Детство и юность Кристиана Маурино прошли в уютном регионе Прованса, расположенном между долиной Роны, Лангедоком-Руссильоном, Альпами, Лазурным берегом и Корсикой. Уникальность месторасположения подарила жителям этого места многообразие натуральных и вкусных продуктов. Ягнята, выкормленные на альпийских лугах, фазаны с берегов реки Дюранс, речной судак из холодных потоков прованских вод, мраморный Рабасский черный трюфель, - все это вдохновило Кристиана на выбор профессии. В возрасте 13 лет он понял, что кулинария станет не просто его увлечением, а делом всей жизни.

       В июле 1975 года маэстро впервые попал на кухню в качестве стажера под руководством Клода Ришо, собственника гостиницы с рестораном XVIII века, в котором любили пообедать действующий в то время президент Франции Анри Жискар д’Эстен с супругой. Уже тогда Кристиан загорелся идеей открыть собственный ресторан, понимая, что для этого предстоит многому научиться. По достижении необходимого возраста, он был принят в Профессиональную школу высокой кухни Escofier. Обладая сильным характером, Кристиан привык добиваться поставленных целей и всегда стремился к новым знаниям и экспериментам. Его наставник - г-н Клод Бертран постоянно призывал Кристиана не бояться выходить за пределы профессиональных пределов ученика и расширять привычные границы.

       Следующим этапом на пути к познанию професии было обучение в Ritz Escoffier в Париже, затем начались стажировки в разных городах Франции (Куршавель, Мерибель, Тинь, Канны, Аяччо) и подготовка к квалифицированному гастрономическому экзамену, имеющий ключевое значение в становлении повара как профессионала. Успешно выдержав все испытания и сдав экзамен, Кристиан понял, что начался настоящий взлёт его карьеры.

       В 1988 году сбылась мечта Кристиана — он открыл свой первый ресторан в курортном городке Борм-ле-Мимоза на Лазурном берегу. Но и этого ему было мало: постепенно кухня превратилась в настоящую страсть маэстро и он понял, что, если ты хочешь познать безумно трудную и интересную гастрономическую науку, нужно обмениваться опытом с поварами других стран, узнавать новые продукты и секреты их приготовления.

       Околдованный этим миром, жаждущий знаний и влюблённый в кулинарию, Кристиан продал свой ресторан и отправился путешествовать по миру. Проработав в Центральной Америке, на Карибах, в Южной Азии, шеф оказался в России, в Москве. По словам Кристиана, Москва его очаровала, он влюбился в неё как в прекрасную женщину и теперь не может находиться долго без неё. Особым удовольствием для Кристиана было видеть, как эволюционирует чувство вкуса у русского гостя и как люди проникаются культурой гастрономии. Кристиан полюбил русские рынки и некоторые национальные блюда, остроумно адаптировав их на свой манер.

       Основной принцип работы шефа «Паризьен», так полюбившийся русским гостям — это умение угадывать желания гостей и стремление доставлять радость своими творениями. «Нужно любить то, что ты делаешь и тогда гости тоже полюбят это!» - говорит Кристиан изо дня в день воплощая свои слова в самых вкусных и необычных блюдах.

- Кристиано, начнем с главного: как становятся настоящим поваром?

       - В 13 лет мне нужно было выбрать профессию. Я хотел творить только своими руками, поэтому выбирал между профессиями ландшафтного дизайнера или повара. Попробовал готовить и решил идти дальше именно в этом деле. Потом начались стажировки, обучение в Ritz Escoffier в Париже. Потом – маленький прованский ресторанчик, сезонная кухня, основанная на местных продуктах, и снова, и снова уроки. Потом меня занесло на Корсику, в ресторан Bec Fin – там я понял, насколько мне нравится работать со свежей рыбой и морепродуктами… Так бы и оставался там, но уже через два года штудировал классическую французскую кулинарию в ресторане Поля Бокюза: да здравствует мясо, колбасы, бульоны и сливки! К рыбе вернулся лишь через три года, обосновавшись в Каннах и осознав себя знатоком всех направлениях французской кухни. Но рыба мне по-прежнему милее.

       - Вы экспериментировали с кулинарными традициями других стран?

       - Я сам наполовину итальянец, хорошо знаю эту кухню. Она прекрасно подходит для дома – простая, вкусная, внешний вид блюда не особенно важен, главное – побольше и посытнее. А французская кухня – это перфекционизм во всем: гость должен быть в восхищении уже от одного вида блюда, и его нельзя разочаровать, когда он будет это блюдо пробовать. Вот почему я говорю, что французская кухня – это искусство, это красота блюда, многогранность вкуса и наслаждение послевкусием. И я хочу заниматься именно этим искусством.

        - Как Вы думаете, московские гурманы способны в полной мере оценить Ваше творчество?

       - Сейчас – да. А вот шесть лет назад, когда я в первый раз приехал в Москву, в московский ресторан, гости еще не разбирались в высокой кухне. Им было все равно, что лежит на тарелке. Считали так: если уж они пришли в роскошный ресторан — все хвалили. Это скучно — и поэтому я отправился в Марокко, где меня ангажировала королевская семья. Можете себе представить всю ту красоту, с которой меня там встретили… Но я даже подумать не мог, что мне помешает религия. Я — атеист, марроканцы же очень религиозны. Там все было ритуалом. Я в этот ритуал не вписывался, и это сильно угнетало. Приглашение Владислава возглавить кухню здесь, в «Паризьене» — в уже искушенной Москве — было, конечно, подарком. Теперь здесь я могу готовить свои сложные и красивые блюда и знать, что меня поймут и оценят — люди прониклись культурой гастрономии по-настоящему. Мне нравится, что мой гость ждет от моей кухни новых впечатлений. Да еще и гости какие! Меня приглашали готовить банкет для президента Медведева. Я далек от политики, я повар и занимаюсь своим делом, но все же мне лестно - готовить для президента этой большой страны.

       - А как Вы отдыхаете?

       - Еду к маме. Каждые три месяца и провожу с ней неделю.

       - Готовите для нее?

       - Нет, что Вы! Я могу готовить только на профессиональной кухне. Дома же будет настоящий бардак, это безумие – затевать такое на четырех человек! Так что мои родные могут попробовать мою кухню только в ресторане.

       - Как и где обычно приходят новые идеи?

       - Я обожаю путешествовать, уже объездил полмира. В дороге никогда не останавливаюсь в гостиницах с их режимом и адаптированным под туристов меню – сразу отправляюсь на рынок. Мне важно самому понять каждый продукт, каждую специю, травы - я трогаю их, осматриваю, нюхаю, пробую. Только так можно понять культуру места. Отсюда и вдохновение для экспериментов. Например, когда я приехал в Москву впервые, я не знал ни о борще, ни о пельменях. Теперь я готовлю настоящий русский борщ, но добавляю в конце каплю трюфельного масла. Ну, считайте, как автограф! И пельмени я делаю – с фуа-гра и креветками. А русская копченая колбаса — это что-то! Попробовав ее, решился на революцию: к фестивалю Beaujolais запек с ней устрицы. Необычная получилась закуска, и гости оценили.

       - Вообще, как далеко могут зайти эксперименты в традиционной французской кухни?

       - Исключения должны подтверждать правило. Главный принцип один: уважение к продукту. Вот человек выращивает морковь, он работает над ней, тратит на это свои силы, и я должен уважать труд этого человека. Я должен уважать мясо, которое приходит ко мне на кухню, ведь оно также было выращено чьим-то трудом и заботами. Только уважая продукт, я смогу приготовить из него хорошее блюдо. И Вы попробуете мою телятину с трюфелем и самым простым гарниром, и почувствуете мое уважение к Вам, я передам его Вам через блюдо, которое готовлю своими руками и своей головой.

       - Что впереди: укрепление позиций французской кухни в России?

       - Буду продолжать творить и путешествовать. А когда придет время уходить на пенсию, я хочу передать свои знания тем, кому они могут пригодиться. Я поездил по миру и видел талантливых детей, у которых не было никаких перспектив, просто потому, что у их семей денег не хватало даже на еду, не то что на обучение. Я хочу передать свой опыт тем, кто чувствует в себе призвание, но не может платить за знания. Я буду учить, делиться тем, что успел узнать и понять за свою гастрономическую жизнь.